NCOLCTL Walton Award


Each year at the annual conference of the National Council of Less Commonly Taught Languages, the Walton Award is presented to an individual whose career has been distinguished by selfless service and noteworthy contributions to the fostering of less commonly taught language initiatives. Named after the late A. Ronald Walton, whose tireless efforts on behalf of less commonly taught languages are remembered fondly by all who knew him, the Walton Award will be presented at the NCOLCTL annual conference. 

All individual paid members of NCOLCTL are invited to make nominations. Nominations will also be entertained from official representatives of any of the NCOLCTL member organizations in good standing.

Nomination Requirements:

a) A cover letter explaining why your nominee is a worthy candidate to receive the Walton Award. Also, state how his/her career has been characterized by selfless service and noteworthy contributions on behalf of less commonly taught languages.

b) Your nominee's curriculum vitae and

c) Names and email addresses of two colleagues who would be willing to provide references on behalf of the nominee in case they are requested by the Walton Award Selection Committee.  


A LCTL organization or an individual needs to be a NCOLCTL paid member to be eligible to nominate a candidate. The selected candidate needs to register and make his/her own plans to attend the conference in order to receive the Award at the 2019 NCOLCTL annual conference at the Holiday Inn & Suites, Atlanta Airport North in April from the 26th to the 28th, 2019. 

Previous Walton Award Winners

Year                Recipient

2000               James Alatis

2001               Teresita Ramos

2002               Richard D. Brecht

2003               Laura Janda

2004               Laurel Rasplica Rodd

2005               Dora E. Johnson

2006               Ray T. Clifford & Leonard A Polakiewicz  

2007               Thomas J. Hinnebusch

2008               Erika Gilson

2009               Michael E. Everson

2010               Antonia Y. Schleicher

2011               J David Edwards

2012               Frederick H. Jackson

2013               Hong Gang Jin

2014               Eyamba Bokamba

2015               Catherine Ingold

2016               Scott McGinnis

2017               Laura Kaplan Murray

2018               Alwiya Omar

2019              Danko Šipka